Solar Panel Cost in Michigan
Use published installed-price evidence and an exact state electricity-rate data point to pressure-test a proposal. The official policy sources below show which Michigan utility and export assumptions to verify. Every price range is historical and labeled with its geography, year, sample, and limitations—not presented as a live quote.
Last reviewed July 23, 2026
No publishable 2024 state price distribution
The filtered Berkeley Lab file did not provide at least 20 qualifying Michigan projects, our minimum for publishing a state percentile screen. We show the national distribution below rather than inventing a local average.
National 2024 installed-price comparison
Berkeley Lab reports that host-owned, stand-alone residential PV systems installed nationally in 2024 had a 20th-percentile installed price of $3.00/W, a median of $4.00/W, and an 80th percentile of $5.20/W in 2024 dollars before incentives.
We retain the national distribution as a consistent comparison across states. It is not a live state price, forecast, guarantee, or verdict. The source includes both cash and loan-financed purchases and excludes third-party-owned systems, paired storage, and self-installs.
National 2024 screen by system size
These examples multiply system watts by Berkeley Lab's national 20th-percentile, median, and 80th-percentile prices. They illustrate the math; they are not estimates of today's Michigan market.
| System size | 20th percentile | Median | 80th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 kW | $18,000 | $24,000 | $31,200 |
| 8 kW | $24,000 | $32,000 | $41,600 |
| 10 kW | $30,000 | $40,000 | $52,000 |
2024 USD, before incentives. A battery or unrelated roof and electrical work should be itemized before comparing solar-only price per watt.
Calculate price per watt for a Michigan solar quote
Choose the proposed system size and optionally enter its cash or financed solar price before incentives. The tool calculates price per watt and shows the same published national historical screen alongside separately labeled Michigan electricity-rate context.
Michigan electricity-rate context: 21.39¢/kWh, from EIA's April 2026 preliminary residential average. This does not change the national installed-price screen or predict a household's savings.
National historical installed-price screen
$24,000 – $41,600
2024 national median: $32,000 · before incentives
20th to 80th percentile: $3.00–$5.20 per DC watt for a 8 kW (8,000 watt) system
Optional: enter the installed solar price before incentives to calculate your quote's price per DC watt. Itemize batteries, roof work, and unrelated add-ons first.
Source: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Distributed Solar & Storage 2025 Data Update. Effective for 2024 installations; retrieved July 22, 2026. Values are 2024 USD per DC watt before incentives. State-rate context: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly Table 5.6.A.
Check my actual quote against thisHistorical national screen only — your quote depends on location, project scope, roof, equipment, financing, and installer. Confirm every material term in writing.
How many solar panels might a Michigan system need?
State location alone does not determine panel count. The first arithmetic check is DC system watts divided by each panel's nameplate watts. These examples round up to a whole panel; the actual design still depends on usage, production, shading, roof layout, setbacks, and utility sizing rules.
| System size | At 400 W/panel | At 450 W/panel |
|---|---|---|
| 6 kW (6,000 W) | 15 panels | 14 panels |
| 8 kW (8,000 W) | 20 panels | 18 panels |
| 10 kW (10,000 W) | 25 panels | 23 panels |
Michigan residential electricity price: April 2026
Michigan's preliminary average was 21.39¢/kWh, 13.6% above the U.S. average of 18.83¢/kWh in the same EIA table. EIA labels the April values preliminary.
This statewide average provides context for the value of each kilowatt-hour a system might offset. It is not the tariff on a particular bill and cannot establish savings or payback by itself. Utility plan, usage timing, export compensation, production, financing, and system price all remain material.
How Michigan policy changes the quote math
Michigan's distributed-generation program applies to qualifying projects up to 550 kW, and the MPSC states that a proposed system generally may not exceed 110% of the customer's electricity consumption for the previous 12 months. Inflow and outflow are measured separately under utility tariffs.
- Modeling implication
- Use the actual utility's inflow price and outflow credit separately, and compare proposed annual production with documented annual consumption. Do not apply the retail import price to every exported kilowatt-hour.
- State-specific decision context
- The 110% sizing screen makes the prior 12 months of usage—and documented future load changes such as an EV or heat pump—important proposal inputs.
- Utility caveat
- Utility tariffs, customer classes, and legacy program status can change the details and export value. Confirm interconnection category, sizing eligibility, inflow charges, and outflow credits with the serving utility.
State-selected inputs for a savings model
These are input instructions, not automatic defaults. Replace statewide context with the household's current bill and tariff.
- Rate context
- EIA April 2026 preliminary average: 21.39¢/kWh.
- Import price
- Use the actual utility, supplier, rate plan, fixed charges, and time periods from the bill.
- Export value
- Use the current written utility tariff or provider agreement; do not substitute the statewide average.
- Usage and production
- Use monthly or interval data when tariff timing, annual reconciliation, or self-consumption changes the result.
Three questions to put in writing
- Does proposed production stay within the applicable 110% usage screen, or is a future load documented?
- Which utility inflow tariff and outflow credit does the model use?
- Is the account on a legacy net-metering arrangement or the current distributed-generation tariff?
Policy record reviewed July 23, 2026. Next scheduled review October 23, 2026. A tariff can change sooner, so verify it again before signing.
How to use the screen on your quote
- Find the installed price before incentives and the DC system size. Separate batteries, roof work, or unrelated add-ons.
- Divide price by watts. For example, $32,000 divided by 8000 watts is $4.00/W.
- Compare the result with the national historical distribution, while checking whether your project matches the source's scope.
- Ask for written explanations of major scope, equipment, roof, permitting, or financing differences. A percentile is a prompt for questions, not proof that a quote is good or bad.
Sources, dates, and limitations
- State price distribution
- Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: Tracking the Sun 2025 Public Data File. Residential, stand-alone PV installed in 2024; records marked third-party-owned or self-installed excluded; unknown flags retained; valid size and price; $1–$20 per DC watt; 20th, median, and 80th percentiles; minimum 20 observations. Retrieved July 23, 2026. The state distribution is shown only when at least 20 qualifying observations remain after filtering.
- Installed-price screen
- Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: Distributed Solar & Storage 2025 Data Update. Metric: Installed-price distribution for host-owned, stand-alone residential PV installed in 2024. Effective through December 31, 2024; published October 1, 2025; retrieved July 22, 2026. Coverage: United States. This is a national historical screening range, not a live quote, state guarantee, or forecast. Project scope, financing, equipment, permitting, roof work, and local market conditions can move a quote outside the range.
- State electricity price
- U.S. Energy Information Administration: Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A. Metric: Average residential electricity price by state. Effective April 30, 2026; published June 25, 2026; retrieved July 22, 2026; status: preliminary. EIA Form EIA-861M monthly state residential average prices; cents per kWh converted to dollars per kWh.
- Michigan policy source
- Michigan Public Service Commission: Distributed Generation Program. Effective date: not specified as one statewide date in this source record; published or updated March 13, 2025; source and summary verified July 23, 2026.
- Michigan policy source
- Michigan Public Service Commission: Solar Power — Learn About Electricity Bill Savings. Effective date: not specified as one statewide date in this source record; source and summary verified July 23, 2026.
Check your Michigan solar proposal
Upload the proposal and we'll calculate its price per watt, compare it with the published national historical screen, inspect production assumptions, and flag missing details worth asking about.
Check My Solar QuoteNo account needed · You won't be charged until you unlock the full report
Michigan solar cost data: FAQ
- How much do solar panels cost in Michigan?
- We do not publish an invented current Michigan average because the filtered Berkeley Lab file does not provide at least 20 qualifying 2024 projects for this state. The national 2024 screen is $3.00/W at the 20th percentile, $4.00/W at the median, and $5.20/W at the 80th percentile before incentives.
- How do I calculate price per watt on a solar quote?
- Divide the installed price before incentives by the system's DC watts. For example, an 8 kW system has 8000 watts, so $32,000 divided by 8000 is $4.00 per watt. Itemize batteries, roof work, and unrelated add-ons before comparing the solar portion.
- How many solar panels do I need in Michigan?
- Panel count starts with system size, not the state name. Divide DC system watts by the module rating: an 8 kW system is 8,000 watts, or about 20 panels at 400 watts each. The final design must use the home's annual usage, expected production, roof planes, shading, setbacks, module rating, and the serving utility's sizing rules; round up only after confirming the layout and usable capacity.
- How should I model exported solar energy in Michigan?
- Use the actual utility's inflow price and outflow credit separately, and compare proposed annual production with documented annual consumption. Do not apply the retail import price to every exported kilowatt-hour. Utility tariffs, customer classes, and legacy program status can change the details and export value. Confirm interconnection category, sizing eligibility, inflow charges, and outflow credits with the serving utility.
- What is the residential electricity price in Michigan?
- Michigan's preliminary average was 21.39¢/kWh, 13.6% above the U.S. average of 18.83¢/kWh in the same EIA table. These are April 2026 preliminary statewide averages from EIA, not a promise of the tariff or bill savings for a particular household.
- Does Michigan's electricity price show whether solar is worth it?
- No. The state average is one input, but a household decision also depends on its utility tariff, usage timing, roof and shading, system production, installed price, financing, export compensation, maintenance, and contract terms. Use the rate as context, not a suitability verdict.
- What projects does the Berkeley Lab price screen cover?
- It covers host-owned, stand-alone residential PV installed in 2024 and reports prices in 2024 dollars per DC watt before incentives. It includes cash and loan-financed systems and excludes third-party-owned, paired-storage, and self-installed systems.
States with similar electricity-rate context
These links are selected by closeness in EIA's April 2026 residential average, not by shared utility rules or installed-price markets. Read each state's own reviewed policy section.