Solar Panel Cost in Oregon: 2024 Price per Watt Data

Use published installed-price evidence and an exact state electricity-rate data point to pressure-test a proposal. The official policy sources below show which Oregon utility and export assumptions to verify. Every price range is historical and labeled with its geography, year, sample, and limitations—not presented as a live quote.

Last reviewed July 23, 2026

Oregon solar price per watt: 2024 distribution

We filtered Berkeley Lab's public project-level file to qualifying stand-alone residential PV installed in 2024, excluding records marked third-party-owned or self-installed. The Oregon sample contains 327 projects.

20th percentile

$2.80/W

2024 USD · before incentives

Median

$3.35/W

2024 USD · before incentives

80th percentile

$4.32/W

2024 USD · before incentives

Use this distribution to ask why a quote differs, not to label a proposal good or bad. Scope, roof conditions, equipment, financing, reporting coverage, and local market features can move a project. A current written bid can differ from this historical sample.

National 2024 installed-price comparison

Berkeley Lab reports that host-owned, stand-alone residential PV systems installed nationally in 2024 had a 20th-percentile installed price of $3.00/W, a median of $4.00/W, and an 80th percentile of $5.20/W in 2024 dollars before incentives.

We retain the national distribution as a consistent comparison across states. It is not a live state price, forecast, guarantee, or verdict. The source includes both cash and loan-financed purchases and excludes third-party-owned systems, paired storage, and self-installs.

National 2024 screen by system size

These examples multiply system watts by Berkeley Lab's national 20th-percentile, median, and 80th-percentile prices. They illustrate the math; they are not estimates of today's Oregon market.

National historical installed-price screen by system size
System size20th percentileMedian80th percentile
6 kW$18,000$24,000$31,200
8 kW$24,000$32,000$41,600
10 kW$30,000$40,000$52,000

2024 USD, before incentives. A battery or unrelated roof and electrical work should be itemized before comparing solar-only price per watt.

Calculate price per watt for a Oregon solar quote

Choose the proposed system size and optionally enter its cash or financed solar price before incentives. The tool calculates price per watt and shows the same published national historical screen alongside separately labeled Oregon electricity-rate context.

Oregon electricity-rate context: 15.78¢/kWh, from EIA's April 2026 preliminary residential average. This does not change the national installed-price screen or predict a household's savings.

National historical installed-price screen

$24,000$41,600

2024 national median: $32,000 · before incentives

20th to 80th percentile: $3.00$5.20 per DC watt for a 8 kW (8,000 watt) system

Quote price basis

Optional: enter the installed solar price before incentives to calculate your quote's price per DC watt. Itemize batteries, roof work, and unrelated add-ons first.

This is a screen, not a local estimate. The source covers host-owned, stand-alone residential PV installed nationally in 2024. It includes cash and loan-financed purchases and excludes paired storage, third-party-owned systems, and self-installs. A proposal outside the distribution may differ in scope; ask for the differences in writing.

Source: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Distributed Solar & Storage 2025 Data Update. Effective for 2024 installations; retrieved July 22, 2026. Values are 2024 USD per DC watt before incentives. State-rate context: U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly Table 5.6.A.

Check my actual quote against this

Historical national screen only — your quote depends on location, project scope, roof, equipment, financing, and installer. Confirm every material term in writing.

How many solar panels might a Oregon system need?

State location alone does not determine panel count. The first arithmetic check is DC system watts divided by each panel's nameplate watts. These examples round up to a whole panel; the actual design still depends on usage, production, shading, roof layout, setbacks, and utility sizing rules.

Illustrative solar panel count by system and module size
System sizeAt 400 W/panelAt 450 W/panel
6 kW (6,000 W)15 panels14 panels
8 kW (8,000 W)20 panels18 panels
10 kW (10,000 W)25 panels23 panels

Oregon residential electricity price: April 2026

Oregon's preliminary average was 15.78¢/kWh, 16.2% below the U.S. average of 18.83¢/kWh in the same EIA table. EIA labels the April values preliminary.

This statewide average provides context for the value of each kilowatt-hour a system might offset. It is not the tariff on a particular bill and cannot establish savings or payback by itself. Utility plan, usage timing, export compensation, production, financing, and system price all remain material.

How Oregon policy changes the quote math

Oregon's PUC describes residential net metering for eligible systems up to 25 kW. Monthly excess kilowatt-hour credits can carry for up to 12 months; remaining annual credits are transferred for low-income assistance under the applicable program rules.

Modeling implication
Model the utility's monthly credit cycle and annual transfer date instead of treating credits as cash or allowing them to accumulate forever. Keep fixed charges and any tariff-specific adjustments in the bill model.
State-specific decision context
The Oregon Solar + Storage Rebate Program page reports that funding is fully reserved and the program is closed to new applications. A 2026 proposal should not count that rebate without documentation of a valid existing reservation and eligibility.
Utility caveat
Investor-owned, municipal, cooperative, and people's utility districts implement programs under different tariffs and procedures. Confirm the serving utility's size limits, annual date, credit treatment, and current incentive availability.

State-selected inputs for a savings model

These are input instructions, not automatic defaults. Replace statewide context with the household's current bill and tariff.

Rate context
EIA April 2026 preliminary average: 15.78¢/kWh.
Import price
Use the actual utility, supplier, rate plan, fixed charges, and time periods from the bill.
Export value
Use the current written utility tariff or provider agreement; do not substitute the statewide average.
Usage and production
Use monthly or interval data when tariff timing, annual reconciliation, or self-consumption changes the result.

Three questions to put in writing

  1. What is the utility's annual credit-transfer date, and how much credit is projected to remain then?
  2. Which fixed charges and tariff adjustments remain after net metering?
  3. Does the proposal count an Oregon rebate, and if so, is there a documented reservation?

Policy record reviewed July 23, 2026. Next scheduled review October 23, 2026. A tariff can change sooner, so verify it again before signing.

How to use the screen on your quote

  1. Find the installed price before incentives and the DC system size. Separate batteries, roof work, or unrelated add-ons.
  2. Divide price by watts. For example, $32,000 divided by 8000 watts is $4.00/W.
  3. Compare the result with the national historical distribution, while checking whether your project matches the source's scope.
  4. Ask for written explanations of major scope, equipment, roof, permitting, or financing differences. A percentile is a prompt for questions, not proof that a quote is good or bad.

Sources, dates, and limitations

State price distribution
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: Tracking the Sun 2025 Public Data File. Residential, stand-alone PV installed in 2024; records marked third-party-owned or self-installed excluded; unknown flags retained; valid size and price; $1–$20 per DC watt; 20th, median, and 80th percentiles; minimum 20 observations. Retrieved July 23, 2026. The state distribution is shown only when at least 20 qualifying observations remain after filtering.
Installed-price screen
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: Distributed Solar & Storage 2025 Data Update. Metric: Installed-price distribution for host-owned, stand-alone residential PV installed in 2024. Effective through December 31, 2024; published October 1, 2025; retrieved July 22, 2026. Coverage: United States. This is a national historical screening range, not a live quote, state guarantee, or forecast. Project scope, financing, equipment, permitting, roof work, and local market conditions can move a quote outside the range.
State electricity price
U.S. Energy Information Administration: Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.A. Metric: Average residential electricity price by state. Effective April 30, 2026; published June 25, 2026; retrieved July 22, 2026; status: preliminary. EIA Form EIA-861M monthly state residential average prices; cents per kWh converted to dollars per kWh.
Oregon policy source
Oregon Public Utility Commission: Renewable Energy Resources — Net Metering. Effective date: not specified as one statewide date in this source record; source and summary verified July 23, 2026.
Oregon policy source
Oregon Department of Energy: Oregon Solar + Storage Rebate Program for Homeowners. Effective date: not specified as one statewide date in this source record; published or updated June 2026; source and summary verified July 23, 2026.

Check your Oregon solar proposal

Upload the proposal and we'll calculate its price per watt, compare it with the published national historical screen, inspect production assumptions, and flag missing details worth asking about.

Check My Solar Quote

No account needed · You won't be charged until you unlock the full report

Oregon solar cost data: FAQ

How much do solar panels cost in Oregon?
In Berkeley Lab's public project file, 327 qualifying Oregon residential systems installed in 2024 had a 20th-percentile price of $2.80/W, a median of $3.35/W, and an 80th-percentile price of $4.32/W before incentives. This historical distribution is not a current quote or forecast.
How do I calculate price per watt on a solar quote?
Divide the installed price before incentives by the system's DC watts. For example, an 8 kW system has 8000 watts, so $32,000 divided by 8000 is $4.00 per watt. Itemize batteries, roof work, and unrelated add-ons before comparing the solar portion.
How many solar panels do I need in Oregon?
Panel count starts with system size, not the state name. Divide DC system watts by the module rating: an 8 kW system is 8,000 watts, or about 20 panels at 400 watts each. The final design must use the home's annual usage, expected production, roof planes, shading, setbacks, module rating, and the serving utility's sizing rules; round up only after confirming the layout and usable capacity.
How should I model exported solar energy in Oregon?
Model the utility's monthly credit cycle and annual transfer date instead of treating credits as cash or allowing them to accumulate forever. Keep fixed charges and any tariff-specific adjustments in the bill model. Investor-owned, municipal, cooperative, and people's utility districts implement programs under different tariffs and procedures. Confirm the serving utility's size limits, annual date, credit treatment, and current incentive availability.
What is the residential electricity price in Oregon?
Oregon's preliminary average was 15.78¢/kWh, 16.2% below the U.S. average of 18.83¢/kWh in the same EIA table. These are April 2026 preliminary statewide averages from EIA, not a promise of the tariff or bill savings for a particular household.
Does Oregon's electricity price show whether solar is worth it?
No. The state average is one input, but a household decision also depends on its utility tariff, usage timing, roof and shading, system production, installed price, financing, export compensation, maintenance, and contract terms. Use the rate as context, not a suitability verdict.
What projects does the Berkeley Lab price screen cover?
It covers host-owned, stand-alone residential PV installed in 2024 and reports prices in 2024 dollars per DC watt before incentives. It includes cash and loan-financed systems and excludes third-party-owned, paired-storage, and self-installed systems.

States with similar electricity-rate context

These links are selected by closeness in EIA's April 2026 residential average, not by shared utility rules or installed-price markets. Read each state's own reviewed policy section.